hvis letters with dots


Student Programs

Alex Charters Student Scholars Program

The Hypervelocity Impact Society offers the Alex Charters Student Scholars Program to eligible students. This program provides travel reimbursement support to selected students for attendance at Hypervelocity Impact Symposiums. Students are selected through a competitive evaluation of nominations submitted by their academic advisors.

ELIGIBILITY: Students enrolled in an academic institution at the time of the conference and interested in hypervelocity impact phenomena are eligible for nomination to the Alex Charters Student Scholars Program. This program is aimed primarily at graduate students, although undergraduate students may apply.

AWARD PACKAGE: Students selected as Alex Charters Student Scholars will receive travel reimbursement support for attendance at HVIS (transportation and lodging expenses only), up to a limit of one thousand dollars (US) per student. Alex Charters Student Scholars will receive complementary conference registration and a copy of the conference proceedings.

HOW TO SUBMIT NOMINATIONS: The nomination must be submitted by the student's academic advisor, on the letterhead of the academic institution. The nomination is limited to a maximum of three pages, and must include the following items:

  • Names, addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers of both the student and the advisor
  • A brief overview of the student's academic background and record
  • A discussion of why the symposium would be helpful to the student

Nominations submitted after the deadline or exceeding the three page limit will not be considered. The deadline for student paper submissions is stated on the Symposium call. Send completed nominations by e-mail to the Chair of the Educational Outreach Committee.

Alex Charters Student Scholars will be selected based on a review of the nominations by the HVIS Educational Outreach Committee. Lists of previous Alex Charters Students Scholars can be seen in the society newsletters. Questions on the program may be directed to the Educational Outreach Committee Chair.